Nominations set to open for expanded LG national awards

The 2022 National Awards for Local Government have been expanded to 11 categories, with nominations to open at 9am on Wednesday 22 June.

Convened by the Federal Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Cities and Regional Development, the awards promote local government’s significant role in delivering targeted quality services to Australians in urban and regional communities.

The department is inviting nominations for projects that display excellence, innovation and outcomes that can be replicated or shared across regions to have outstanding local government achievements recognised nationally.

Short form entries are invited across 11 award categories:

  • Creativity and Culture;
  • Productivity through Infrastructure;
  • Regional Growth;
  • Cohesive Communities;
  • Road Safety;
  • Addressing Violence against Women and their Children;
  • Indigenous Recognition;
  • Women in Local Government;
  • Waste Management;
  • Career Starter; and
  • Disaster Preparedness.

Submissions will be accepted until 11.59pm AEDT, 3 August,  followed by a voting period in which Councils and their communities have the opportunity to vote for projects across each category that display excellence, innovation, and outcomes that can be replicated or shared across regions.

2022 Award winners receive a commemorative trophy and an award certificate presented by the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts.

For more information on the 2022 National Awards for Local Government visit the website.