Nominations now open for Local Marine Advisory Committees

Residents along the Great Barrier Reef catchment with an interest in the Reef are invited to nominate to become part of their regional Local Marine Advisory Committee (LMAC).

Established in 1999, the LMACs enable local communities to give valuable input into managing the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park and provide a community forum for interest groups, government and the community to discuss issues around marine resources.

The 12 regional LMACs calling for committee nominations are:

  • Cape York
  • Douglas
  • Cairns
  • Cassowary Coast
  • Hinchinbrook
  • Townsville
  • Bowen-Burdekin
  • Whitsunday
  • Mackay
  • Capricorn Coast
  • Gladstone
  • Burnett

The LMACs meet five times a year over the three-year term, providing a great opportunity to learn from different stakeholders and raise issues with reef managers.