Human Rights Awards 2018 – Nominations for Government category close soon

2018 is a special year for the Human Rights Awards, marking the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. The Declaration underpins international human rights law and inspires us to work to ensure all people can gain freedom, equality and dignity.

Each year, the annual Human Rights Awards recognises the amazing work being done in our communities by ordinary Australians, organisations, businesses and community groups to further human rights and freedoms in Australia. In 2018, the Awards introduce a new Government category which will recognise the contribution of local, state, territory and federal government bodies to the advancement and protection of human rights in Australia. 

If you know a council that deserves to be applauded for its devotion to making Australia a better place and commits to ensure our rights and freedoms are enjoyed by all on an equal basis, nominate them by August 5 to make sure they get the recognition they deserve.

The nine Awards categories are:

  • Human Rights Medal
  • Young People’s Human Rights Medal
  • Business Award
  • Government
  • Racism. It Stops With Me Award
  • Media Award
  • Tony Fitzgerald Memorial Community Individual Award 
  • Community Organisation Award
  • Law Award

Details and nomination forms are online at