National NAIDOC Committee welcomes new members

The National NAIDOC Committee (NNC) has welcomed three new members to its ranks as planning commence for NAIDOC 2019.

The new board members are: 

  • Kimberley Benjamin, a young Yawuru, Bardi and Kija woman from Broome in the Kimberley region of WA. 
  • Gordon Cole, a Noongar man from Perth and the South West of WA; and  
  • Steven Satour, a Anangu Yankunytjatjara/Pitjantjatjara Aboriginal man from Central Australia with strong family ties to NSW. 

The three new appointees join seven current committee members including recently appointed Co-Chairs Pat Thompson and John Paul Janke. 

The NNC is a voluntary Committee independent of Government and make key decisions on National NAIDOC. Members are appointed for a term of three years following a following a public expression of interest process. This year’s EOI process attracted a record 59 applications. 

Outgoing Committee members Dr Anne Martin, Ben Mitchell and Jonathon Newchurch have concluded their terms. NAIDOC Co-Chair, Pat Thompson thanked the outgoing board members for their contributions. 

“The contribution and tireless work of Anne and Ben over the last decade – and Jonathon for his three-year term – has been instrumental in driving the extraordinary growth in the status and the diverse celebrations of NAIDOC every year,” Ms Thompson said. 

The Co-Chairs acknowledged that the immediate challenge for NAIDOC 2019 is to build on the extremely successful celebrations held across the country in 2018 under the theme: Because of Her, We Can! 

“We can think of no other NAIDOC theme in recent years that attracted so much attention and acceptance across the nation so we’re looking forward to building on its unparalleled success,” they said. 

To find out more about the new look Committee and upcoming 2019 theme announcements visit