$19m available for Qld communities hit by 2019 monsoon trough

Fourteen Queensland local governments impacted by the 2019 monsoon trough event are eligible to apply for a share of $19 million in resilience and risk-reduction funding.

The local governments include Burdekin, Burke, Carpentaria, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Douglas, Etheridge, Flinders, Hinchinbrook, McKinlay, Richmond, Townsville, Whitsunday, and Winton.

The funding will come from both the Federal and Queensland governments and will be made available under the Managing Disaster Risk grants program to support the region’s long-term recovery from the monsoon trough.

Eligible applicants include local governments, Queensland government departments and agencies, and incorporated not-for-profit-organisations.

Expressions of interest close on 7 April 2021. Shortlisted applicants will then be asked to provide a detailed application. Successful applicants will have until 30 June 2023 to deliver their projects.

Click here for more information on how to apply.