Australian Road Safety Awards

South Burnett Regional Council, City of Gold Coast, Logan City Council, and Maribyrnong City Council were all recognised at the 2022 Australian Road Safety Awards, presented at Parliament House last week. 

Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Transport Senator Carol Brown commended all the award winners on their efforts to save lives and reduce injuries on Australian roads. 

“The awards remind us all about the importance of road safety and give confidence to decision makers at all levels that – working together – we can deliver on the promise of the new National Road Safety Strategy 2021–30,” Senator Brown said. 

“Tragically, last year 1,122 people died on Australian roads, while around 40,000 people are seriously injured each year.” 

“As part of our commitment to Vision Zero by 2050, the Australian Government is continuing to work closely with the states, territories, local governments and other stakeholders to deliver a strong plan for implementing the National Road Safety Strategy.” 

A list of this year’s award winners is available at