Disaster assistance activated for flood-hit Victorian LGAs

Categories A and B of the joint federal and state Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA) have been activated for flood-hit areas of Victoria.

Thirty-seven local government areas in central and eastern Victoria impacted by floods and storms are eligible for assistance measures, including personal hardship and distress, personal and financial counselling, counter-disaster operations, removal of debris from residential properties as well as the restoration of damaged essential public assets.

The Federal Government has said it will respond to further requests for assistance as necessary.

As of Tuesday morning, over 17,500 Victorian households were still without power.

There were 129 Telstra network sites and 16 Optus sites that remained down, and 11 communities were isolated by floodwaters, including Athlone, Binginwarri, Boolarra, Kurrajong, Devon North, Poowong, Poowong North, Strzelecki, Willung South, Kallista and Sherbrooke.

The Victorian SES had received more than 9000 requests for assistance since the beginning of these storms last week, with most related to downed trees, building damage, flood and rescue.  

In related news, disaster recovery assistance has been extended to a further 10 local government areas following the severe storms and floods in NSW in March.

The additional local government areas include: Bogan, Central Darling, Georges River, Goulburn Mulwaree, Snowy Monaro, Tamworth, Temora, Warren, Upper Lachlan and Uralla.

DRFA assistance is now being provided to 73 local government areas in NSW.