Disaster assistance extended to flood-affected NSW councils

NSW councils are getting disaster assistance to repair roads and infrastructure damaged after recent severe storms and floods. 

The money is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA), and follows severe storms and flooding that occurred across coastal and inland NSW in late July and again in early August.

The Bega Valley, Eurobodalla, Kiama, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Sutherland, and Newcastle local government areas will get assistance, as well as councils further inland, including Goulburn Mulwaree, Queanbeyan Palerang, Snowy Monaro, Upper Lachlan, Yass, and Orange.

The funding will help cover the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets, such as roads.

Further information on disaster assistance is available on the Federal Government’s Disaster Assist website.