Disaster assistance for LGAs impacted by flooding

Disaster assistance has been made available to 25 local government areas in NSW and Queensland affected by severe storms and flooding in early to mide November.

The assistance for NSW is being provided to the Bathurst, Blayney, Blue Mountains, Brewarrina, Broken Hill, Cabonne, Cobar, Cowra, Forbes, Gilgandra, Gunnedah, Gwydir, Lachlan, Moree Plains, Narrabri, Port Macquarie Hastings, Tenterfield, Upper Hunter, Warrumbungle and Weddin LGAs through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

The event caused significant widespread damage across NSW, damaging critical infrastructure and residential properties.

DRFA assistance has also been made now available to five flood-impacted local councils in Queensland after heavy rain and flooding in western and southern parts of the state on 10-13 November.

Assistance to repair roads and other essential public infrastructure is being provided to the local government areas of Barcoo, Blackall-Tambo, Boulia, Diamantina, and Southern Downs.