Disaster funding extended to another five NSW LGAs

Disaster assistance has been made available in five additional local government areas (LGAs) in NSW after damaging rains and flooding.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA) to the Kempsey, Port Macquarie Hastings, Narromine, Oberon, and Strathfield LGAs.

It takes the number of LGAs in NSW that have been disaster-declared since the June-July rains to 42.

NSW Emergency Service and Resilience Minister Steph Cooke said the NSW and federal governments are working closely to put additional funding and resources into the ongoing clean-up and recovery process.

DRFA assistance has also been extended to flood-affected communities in southern Queensland after flooding in May.

Primary producers in the Balonne, Lockyer Valley, Southern Downs, Somerset, Western Downs, and Gympie LGAs are eligible for additional primary producer recovery grants.

Non-profit organisations in those LGAs (as well as Toowoomba and Moreton Bay) will be eligible for grants of up to $50,000  to assist with clean-up and repair efforts.