Disaster recovery assistance widened in NSW

Disaster assistance has been extended to a further 12 Local Government Areas in NSW affected by storms and flooding in February – including Blayney, Cabonne, Coonamble, Glen Innes Severn, Gilgandra, Mid-Western, Narromine, Oberon, Tenterfield, Upper Hunter, Walgett and Warrumbungle.

Eighty-three LGAs in NSW, as well as Lord Howe Island, experienced significant losses and disruption due to damaging winds, flooding, road closures and power outages to homes and businesses between 15 January and 23 February 2020. 

Assistance available under the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangement (DRFA) may include support for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets as well as grants to eligible non-profit organisations. 

In related news, factsheets outlining the eligibility of individuals, small businesses, not-for-profits, and primary producers in bushfire-affected communities for government financial or health support have been published by the National Bushfire Recovery Agency.

The factsheets also cover eligibility for support as a result of the effects of Covid-19.