Draft National Road Safety Strategy now on public exhibition

The draft National Road Safety Strategy 2021-30 has been opened up for public and stakeholder comments, with input possible until 23 March.

The draft strategy – developed by the federal, state and territory governments, and the Australian Local Government Association – sets the direction of Australia’s road safety objectives, key priorities for action and road trauma reduction targets for the decade to 2030.

This will set Australia on the path to achieving Vision Zero by 2050 – zero deaths and serious injuries from road crashes.

The draft Strategy has three key themes: Safe Roads, Safe Vehicles and Safe Road Use.

Speed management is embedded within all three themes. These themes represent a continued commitment to the safe system approach and aim to strengthen all elements of our road transport system through improvements under each.

Following the consultation period, feedback received will be considered in finalising the strategy.

Click here to read the draft National Road Safety Strategy 2021–2030 and find out how to submit comments.

In related news, applications for Round 2 grants under the federal Road Safety Innovation Fund opened this week.

The $12 million fund provides grants for innovative research and technology development that support the Federal Government’s road safety agenda.

Federal Assistant Minister for Road Safety and Freight Transport Scott Buchholz has urged any organisations with an interest in road safety research and technology development to apply for funding.

“With $10 million available over the next three years, potential projects can include new technologies and delivery techniques, road safety management initiatives, or research to develop policy and improve road safety outcomes,” Assistant Minister Buchholz said.

“Eligible areas could include regional and remote road safety, vehicle safety, vulnerable road users and risky road use.

$10 million is available under Round 2 of the program, with applications closing on 29 March 2021. Click here for further information, including application guidelines.