Drought resilience boost for Southern NSW and Top End NT/WA

Innovation hubs to help farmers and communities respond to drought are set to open in Southern NSW and the Top End.

The Southern NSW Hub will be established at the Charles Sturt University’s AgriPark campus in Wagga Wagga, while the Top End NT/WA Hub will be based at Darwin’s Charles Darwin University with four “nodes” in Katherine, Alice Springs, Broome, and Perth.

They are the first of eight hubs being set up in regional areas to support the development and uptake of innovative technologies and practices to improve drought resilience.

Hubs are also planned for southern Queensland/northern NSW, Southwest WA, Victoria, tropical north Queensland, South Australia, and Tasmania.

The hubs are the centerpiece of the Federal Government’s Drought Resilience Research and Adoption Program – and are being established through the $5 billion Future Drought Fund, with contributions from Hub members.