Ex-tropical cyclone Imogen: disaster assistance for FNQ

Disaster assistance has been extended to the local government areas of Cairns, Townsville and Pormpuraaw following ongoing impacts from ex-tropical cyclone Imogen.

In all, 18 local government areas in northern and far north Queensland (including Burdekin, Burke, Cairns, Carpentaria, Cassowary Coast, Charters Towers, Cook, Croydon, Etheridge, Hinchinbrook, Kowanyama, Mareeba, Mornington, Palm Island, Pormpuraaw, Tablelands, Townsville and Whitsunday) have now been offered disaster assistance through the jointly funded Commonwealth-state Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

The flooding brought on by ex-Tropical Cyclone Imogen has required repairs to roads, pavements, bridges, and other essential public infrastructure.

Extensive tree clearing and other mopping-up also will be required.

Further information on disaster assistance is available on the Federal Government’s Disaster Assist website and the Queensland Reconstruction Authority website.

In related news, West Australian communities impacted by the devastating Wooroloo Bushfire are set to receive an $18.1 million package to provide support for ongoing recovery efforts.

The Wooroloo Bushfire burnt over 10,000 hectares across the local government areas of Swan and Mundaring in late January/early February.

The recovery package, which is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA) through a Category C Community Recovery Fund, will enable the clean-up and safe removal of bushfire debris from affected residential blocks.