Minister Bowen to address climate roundtable at 2023 Congress

Federal Minister for Climate Change and Energy Chris Bowen will discuss climate change and emissions reduction at a special breakfast event as part of the 2023 National Local Roads, Transport and Infrastructure Congress.

Minister Bowen will be joined by ALGA President Councillor Linda Scott, local mayors and leaders at the breakfast on 7 September.

For decades, local governments have been at the forefront of climate change adaptation and reducing their carbon footprints in Australia.

This important event, to be held at the Australian National University, will provide an opportunity to discuss the sector’s work with Minister Bowen, and how councils can help the Federal Government deliver on its climate change and renewable energy priorities and targets, including achieving net zero emissions by 2050.

This year’s Congress from 6-7 September includes a broader focus on community infrastructure, encompassing renewable energy deployment and integration, innovations in active transport, waste and recycling, affordable housing and resilient telecommunications.

ALGA has assembled an impressive lineup of speakers this year, including Federal Minister for Local Government Kristy McBain MP, who will speak at the Congress dinner, and Shadow Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator Bridget McKenzie.

There will also as well as a range of experts in renewable energy, waste and recycling, active transport, road safety and freight, housing, and telecommunications.

The keynote speakers for the Congress include Natasha Bradshaw from the Grattan Institute, who will share the preliminary findings of their research into road funding in Australia, Associate Professor Ben Beck from Monash University who will present the latest trends in active transport, and Dr Ian Faulks who will share practical solutions for improving road safety on local roads.

Don’t miss this opportunity to join mayors, shire presidents, CEOs, General Managers and local government leaders from around the nation at this year’s Congress.

Download the registration brochure or register here: