MobileMuster names its top 35 local government recyclers

The top 35 local government collectors of old mobile phones and components have been announced ahead of MobileMuster’s national awards in June.

Councils in the running for the telecommunication product stewardship awards include Australia’s largest metropolitan council, Brisbane City, as well as rural and remote area shires such as Baw Baw Shire and East Arnhem Regional Council.

Spyro Kalos, the Head of MobileMuster, said that despite lockdowns over the past year local councils have risen to the recycling challenge while continuing to find innovative ways to support MobileMuster and encourage their communities to recycle.

MobileMuster works with over 360 councils nationally to help divert thousands of tonnes of non-renewable resources out of landfill and back into the manufacture of new products.

Its awards are based on local councils which have collected the most mobile phone components for recycling between 1 May 2020 and 30 April 2021. Councils have until the end of April to organise their final collections so they can be counted towards their total collections.

The Top Collector in each state and territory as well as a Top Collector Per Capita will be announced at the Australian Local Government Association (ALGA) National General Assembly in Canberra in June.

There will be a MobileMuster presence throughout the three-day National General Assembly of Local Government.