More LGAs to receive DRFA funding after cyclonic rains and storms

Heavy rain along Australia’s east coast in the past month has seen disaster assistance extended to over 30 local government areas in Queensland and NSW.

In Queensland, assistance has gone to 16 local government areas, including the Burke, Cassowary Coast, Charters Towers, Cook, Croydon, Etheridge, Hinchinbrook, Kowanyama, Mareeba, Mornington, Palm Island, Tablelands and Whitsunday councils.

This is to help repair public infrastructure damaged caused by ex-Tropical Cyclone Imogen as it made its way across the Gulf of Carpentaria in early January and then down the coast to Airlie Beach.

The disaster relief is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Fifteen storm and flood-affected local government areas in NSW have also been extended disaster assistance, including Armidale, Ballina, Bellingen, Byron, Clarence Valley, Coffs Harbour, Glen Innes Severn, Inverell, Kempsey, Kyogle, Lismore, Nambucca, Port Macquarie-Hastings, Richmond Valley and Tweed.

In other DRFA funding news, Queensland local councils and community groups impacted by last year’s bushfires can apply for flexible funding grants of up to $100,000 to invest in long-term recovery projects and programs.

Grant applications for the Category C – Flexible Funding Grants – close on 11 February.