Nominations for revamped National LG awards now open

Entries for the 2021 National Local Government Awards have opened, with eligible councils invited to nominate projects across eight categories.

The nomination process for this year’s awards has been simplified to enable shorter online submissions – and for the first time, councils can recognise the work and achievements of their peers in the local government sector through an open voting system.

In another first, awards voting will also be opened to the public, giving community members the ability to vote for projects across each category that displays excellence, innovation and replicability.

Submissions will be open across eight award categories:

  • Creativity and Culture Award
  • Boosting Productivity through Infrastructure Award
  • Contributing to Regional Growth Award
  • Cohesive Communities Award
  • Excellence in Road Safety Award
  • Addressing Violence against Women and their Children Award
  • Promoting Indigenous Recognition Award
  • Women in Local Government Award.

Each category winner will receive an excellence award certificate. The department will also work with each winner to develop a promotional awards package to be used throughout 2022.

Where possible, the federal Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications, which convenes the awards, will engage local businesses to support the development of this communications initiative.

Submissions will be accepted up until 11.59 (AEDT) on 19 November and voting will close on 10 December.

Federal Assistant Local Government Minister Kevin Hogan will notify each of the category winners from mid-December.

Click here to register and submit a nomination on behalf of your council, and here for more information on the awards.