Recovery grants extended to flood-affected NSW communities

Communities in seven NSW North Coast local government areas are to get additional DRFA assistance for flooding that occurred in February.

Recovery grants of up to $75,000 for primary producers and up to $50,000 for small businesses are now available in the Clarence Valley, Coffs Harbour, Kyogle, Lismore, Nambucca Valley, Port Macquarie-Hastings, and Richmond Valley local government areas.

Previously, support was available for communities impacted by major storms and flooding from March onwards; this week’s announcement means the same support will be offered to communities across seven LGAs which were impacted in February.

The assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-state Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Further information on disaster assistance is available on the Commonwealth’s Disaster Assist website and the NSW emergency information and response website.

Financial assistance through the DRFA has also been made available to help communities in the Shire of Wiluna in WA recover from damage caused by thunderstorms and severe flooding earlier this year.