Tropical cyclone Seroja: Federal disaster assistance activated

Cyclone-impacted communities in the Shire of Northampton, 480km north of Perth, are now eligible to apply for Commonwealth disaster relief.

Support is being made available through the Australian Government Disaster Recovery Payment (AGDRP) and Disaster Recovery Allowance (DRA).

The AGDRP is a one-off, non-means-tested payment of $1000 for eligible adults and $400 for eligible children who have been seriously affected, while the DRA provides a short-term income support payment for those whose livelihoods have been hit.

The Lord Mayor’s Distress Relief Fund has also been activated due to the destruction and damage caused by Seroja.

Established in 1961 in conjunction with the state government, the LMDRF provides financial assistance to individuals for the alleviation and relief of distress, suffering, and personal hardships, brought about by any disaster or emergency within WA.

On Friday, Federal Emergency Management Minister David Littleproud said people in the Carnamah, Chapman Valley, Greater Geraldton, Mingenew, Morawa, Perenjori, and Three Springs local government areas can now access the support package.

The Federal Government says it will continue assessing the impacts of  Seroja and offer further support and assistance if necessary.