Nominations open for the 2018 Human Rights Awards

Nominations are now open for the 2018 Australian Human Rights Awards.

The Commission this year has introduced a new award category to recognise a local, state, territory or federal government body that has contributed to the advancement and protection of human rights.

There are nine award categories. They are:

  • Human Rights Medal
  •  Young People’s Human Rights Medal
  • Business Award
  • Government Award
  • Racism. It Stops With Me Award
  • Media Award
  • Tony Fitzgerald Memorial Community Individual Award
  • Community Organisation Award
  • Law Award

“Our annual Human Rights Awards acknowledge and celebrate the achievements of the many extraordinary Australians who quietly advance human rights in the community,” said Australian Human Rights Commission President, Rosalind Croucher.

“The Commission has a long and proud history of working with individuals, businesses, community organisations and governments to advance the human rights of all Australians.

“If you are inspired by an individual or an organisation because of their human rights work, I urge you to nominate them for a 2018 Human Rights Award.”

Nominations close on Sunday 5 August.

Previous winners of the prestigious Human Rights Medal include Pat Anderson, Peter Greste, Eddie Mabo, Rt Hon Malcom Fraser, Ian Thorpe, Jeremy Jones, Professor Fred Hollows, Sister Clare Condon and Dorothy Hoddinott.

Further details and nomination forms are available on the Human Rights Awards website.