2020 Motions

The National General Assembly 2020 was cancelled due to the Coronavirus pandemic. However, the Board of the Australian Local Government Association (ALGA) agreed to consider the 153 motions which were submitted by councils for debate. This occurred in late July.

Most of the motions were forwarded to the relevant Federal Minister for their consideration and advice. Some were forwarded to state and territory local government associations for their action as appropriate as they relate to state government rather than Australian Government issues. A very small number have not been progressed as they were did not meet the criteria for inclusion in the Business Papers as they were either not a local government issue or seek to advance the advocacy of a third party. 

As usual, any motion forwarded to a Minister will be drawn upon by ALGA in its general advocacy work to support policy principles and give additional weight to local government positions, albeit that this year the motions were not tested at the NGA. 

2020 Motion outcomes by Council

Minister Response Letters

The Hon. Mark Coulton MP, Minister for Regional Health, Regional Communications and Local Government

The Hon. Angus Taylor MP, Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction

The Hon. David Littleproud MP, Minister for Agriculture, Drought and Emergency Management

The Hon. Michael Sukkar MP, Minister for Housing and Assistant Treasurer

Senator the Hon. Anne Ruston, Minister for Families and Social Services

Senator the Hon. Jonathon Duniam, Assistant Minister for Regional Tourism

Senator the Hon. Marise Payne, Minister for Foreign Affairs – United Nations Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons

Senator the Hon. Marise Payne, Minister for Foreign Affairs

Senator the Hon. Richard Colbeck, Minister for Aged Care and Senior Australians

The Hon. Jason Wood MP, Assistant Minister for Customs, Community Safety and Multicultural Affairs

The Hon. Paul Fletcher MP, Minister for Communications, Cyber Safety and the Arts

The Hon. Michael McCormack MP, Deputy Prime Minister