Artists honoured at 2019 Australia Council Awards

The Australia Council Awards offer an opportunity to reflect on the significant contribution of Australian artists and to highlight the inherent value of culture and its contribution to society.

This year, three First Nations artists were among the impressive list of Australia Council Award recipients, including Rhoda Roberts who received the prestigious Ros Bower Award, along with Rachael Maza (theatre) and Vicky Van Hout (dance).

Fablice Manirakiza was the recipient of this year’s Kirk Robson Award. A former child soldier from war-torn Burundi, Fablice draws from his hip hop/rap practice to create interactive workshops for young people from marginalised communities in Victoria. The award recognises a young person working in community arts and cultural development.

“It is wonderful to be able to honour … outstanding artists who, each in their own way, reflects Australia’s rich creative talent,” Australia Council CEO Adrian Collette AM said.

“These artists have been nominated by their peers for the extraordinary contribution they have made both in their fields, and to the broader cultural life of the nation.”

More details about the recipients can be found on the Australia Council for the Arts website.