Storm and flood-affected councils in NSW to get disaster funding

Disaster assistance has been made available to eight NSW coastal and inland local government areas impacted by storms on 20 October.

The severe thunderstorms and associated high winds and flash flooding caused widespread damage across the Armidale, Bega Valley, Central Coast, Eurobodalla, Mid Coast, Shoalhaven, Snowy Valleys and Tamworth councils, including to local roads, businesses and residential properties.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Minister for Emergency Management David Littleproud said: “Through the DRFA, a range of practical assistance measures are now available to help individuals get back on their feet and help councils with ongoing clean-up and repairs to infrastructure.”

Assistance available under the DRFA may include:

  • help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged;
  • support for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets;
  • concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and nonprofit organisations;
  • freight subsidies for primary producers; and
  • grants to eligible non-profit organisations

 Further information on disaster assistance is available on the Disaster Assist website at and the NSW emergency information and response website.